skip to Main Content

Looking back and going forward: Britten and Beethoven

Solem Quartet

Britten was fascinated by the work of another great English composer, Purcell. The 2nd quartet was premiered in 1945, marking the 250th anniversary of his death, and borrows the form and title ‘Chacony’ as its final movement in tribute to Purcell’s work. The original Purcell Chacony is heard in this programme. These works are paired with Beethoven’s opus 127 – a work which marks the beginning of the ‘Late Period’ in his quartet writing and the exploration of form, harmony and expression which that represents.

Henry Purcell, arr. Benjamin Britten – Chacony in G minor
Benjamin Britten – String Quartet no. 2 in C major, op. 36
Ludwig van Beethoven – Quartet no. 12 in E flat major, op. 127
Further proposals
“Largo”: Haydn, Bartok and Britten
Britten in an hour
Hokusai Pictures
Pushing Classical boundaries
Back To Top