skip to Main Content

A concert of music by 20th Century French giants

Robert Plane (clarinet) and the Gould Piano Trio

Messiaen’s Quartet for the end of Time stands as a uniquely powerful and spiritual work which transcends the conditions of the prisoner of war camp in which he was held captive during its composition. It is prefaced in this programme by the two giants of French music that preceded him, Debussy’s dazzling clarinet rhapsody and Ravel’s deeply personal piano trio, composed in a frenzy of inspiration before enlisting to serve in the First World War.

Claude Debussy – Première Rhapsodie
Maurice Ravel – Piano Trio in A minor
Olivier Messiaen – Quartet for the End of Time
Back To Top