skip to Main Content


Solem Quartet

Haydn and Beethoven were composers who pushed the expectations of their audiences in writing both of these quartets, composed towards the end of their lives. Haydn’s opus 76 quartets were his most adventurous, while Beethoven’s ‘Late Quartets’ redefined the string quartet genre. Pairing these works with pieces by contemporary composer(s), we offer the audience an opportunity to explore the extraordinary and revolutionary nature of Beethoven’s and Haydn’s writing, and to draw parallels with the music of our times. Alongside adventure, this programme features moments of astounding beauty; notably in Vasks’ third movement Melodia, and in the transcendental fourth movement of Beethoven’s opus 130, the famous Cavatina.

Franz Joseph Haydn – Quartet in E flat major, op. 76, no. 6, Hob.III:80
Pēteris Vasks – String Quartet no. 1, revised version
Ludwig van Beethoven – Quartet no. 13 in B flat major, op. 130
Further proposals
Journeys in Folk and Form
The Art of Fugue
Back To Top