skip to Main Content

Timothy Orpen to feature in RSNO Digital Season

Timothy Orpen looks forward to performing in a live-streamed chamber concert as part of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra’s Spring/Summer Digital Season 2021.

In his role as Principal Clarinet of the RSNO, Timothy will perform alongside several of his RNSO colleagues in a concert that also involves star pianist Paul Lewis.

Their programme will feature works by Mozart and Weber with particularly prominent roles for Timothy’s clarinet, as well as an item by Scottish homegrown composer Michael Murray and Paul Lewis’s rendition of Mozart’s twelfth Piano Concerto.

Recommended by Classic FM, the concert will broadcast at 7.30pm on Friday 23 April, and will be available to ticket holders until Friday 30 July.

Timothy will open the concert with Tom Dunn (viola) and Aaron Shorr (piano), performing Mozart’s Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano in E flat, K. 498, nicknamed the “Kegelstatt” (‘skittle alley’) trio, after the story that Mozart wrote the piece while playing a game of skittles in summer 1786. Next in the programme will be Michael Murray’s Psycho-Scherzo, which features as part of the RSNO’s ‘Scotch Snaps’ series, celebrating established and emerging composers born or living in Scotland. Timothy will then return to the stage for Weber’s Clarinet Quintet in B flat major, featuring a highly virtuosic and soloist clarinet part, initially written for renowned 19th-century clarinettist Heinrich Baermann. The concert will finish with a chamber rendition of Mozart’s Piano Concerto no. 12, K. 414, with soloist Paul Lewis accompanied by a string quartet drawn from the RSNO Chamber Ensemble.

Tickets for the stream can be obtained from the RSNO website.

Timothy Orpen | Royal Scottish National Orchestra: Online | Fri 23 April | 7:30pm

Mozart Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano in E flat, K. 498, Kegelstatt
Murray Psycho-Scherzo
Weber Clarinet Quintet in B flat major, op. 34
Mozart Piano Concerto no. 12, K. 414, for piano and string quintet

Timothy Orpen (clarinet)
Paul Lewis (piano)
Adrian Wilson (oboe)
RSNO Chamber Ensemble

You may also like to see...
Back To Top 22/10/2021