skip to Main Content

Timothy Orpen, Principal Clarinet of RSNO, at Perth Concert Hall

In a co-production with BBC Radio 3, Timothy Orpen joins wind principal colleagues from the RNSO, along with the renowned pianist Susan Tomes, as part of the on-line Perth Easter Festival of Classical Music.

Filmed in a socially-distanced set-up at Scotland’s Perth Concert Hall, their programme of quintets for piano and wind by Mozart and Beethoven will broadcast ‘as live’ at 1pm on Friday 9 April. Tickets can now be bought, and the performance will be available to book and watch until Sunday 9 May 2021. It will also be aired as the BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert at 1pm on Friday 9th April.

Mozart was very proud of his quintet for piano, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn. Following its premiere at the Imperial and Royal National Court Theatre in Vienna in his miracle 6 piano concerto year of 1784 he wrote to his father; ‘I myself consider it to be the best thing I have written in my life.’ Beethoven’s homage to Mozart with the same instrumentation was written only 12 years later and is full of the ebullience of youth.

Click here for tickets to the on-line concert.

Timothy Orpen | ONLINE and on BBC Radio 3 | Fri 9 April 2021 | 1:00 pm

Mozart Quintet for Piano and Wind in E flat major K452
Beethoven Quintet for Piano and Wind in E flat major Op 16

Timothy Orpen (clarinet)
Adrian Wilson (oboe)
David Hubbard (bassoon)
Chris Gough (horn)
Susan Tomes (piano)

Photo credit: Our thanks to Susan Tomes for providing this image

You may also like to see...
Back To Top 19/10/2021