skip to Main Content

Rowland returns to Finland to work with City of Joensuu Orchestra

Daniel Rowland joins the vibrant Joensuu City Orchestra this December for two performances of The Eight Seasons which sees Vivaldi’s iconic Four Seasons, one of the best loved Baroque works in orchestral repertory, skilfully interwoven with Piazzolla’s Las Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires). Piazzolla’s Four Season were originally composed for bandoneon – a Latin American concertina used extensively in tango ensembles – and transcribed for solo violin and strings in the 1990s.

Joensuu City Orchestra gives around eighty concerts each year spanning symphonic, baroque, church, and chamber music along with a varied programme of concerts for children and young people and the occasional rock concert.

In the last ten years Daniel has taken great pleasure in showing audiences across the world how well Piazzolla’s and Vivaldi’s seasonal works go together and looks forward to sharing his passion for this stunning music with Joensuu City Orchestra and their audiences.

Concert details:
Thu 1 December at 7.00 pm
Carelia Hall
Joensuu University of Eastern Finland
Yliopistokatu 2, 80100
Joensuu, Finland
Fri 2 December at 7.00 pm
Lentua Hall
Kuhmo Arts Centre

You may also like to see...
Back To Top 15/01/2021