skip to Main Content

Robert Plane, Lucy Gould and Benjamin Frith live and in-person at Barnes Music Festival

Tickets are now on sale for Robert Plane‘s trio concert with Lucy Gould and Benjamin Frith at the Barnes Music Festival in May.

The clarinet-violin-piano trio will perform their hour-long programme twice in one evening to a live audience in St Mary’s Church, Barnes. This will allow two socially-distanced audiences to enjoy their programme entitled ‘Music for Theatre and Ballet’, with the two concerts taking place at 6:00pm and at 8:00pm on Saturday 29th May.

Tickets can be purchased via the Barnes Music Festival website.

Drawing upon music for the stage, the concert programme opens with the Suite for violin, clarinet and piano by Darius Milhaud, followed by Erich Korngold’s ‘Much Ado About Nothing’ Suite for violin and piano, both of which are based on incidental music for plays. Rob will then feature in a selection of movements from Josef Holbrooke’s ‘Mezzo-Tints’ for clarinet and piano, including ‘The Butterfly of the Ballet’ which harks back to the composer’s music hall roots, a medium in which both his parents worked, and in which he was immersed as a child. The programme ends with Igor Stravinsky’s Suite from ‘The Soldier’s Tale’, in its trio arrangement by the composer himself, a set of movements intended ‘to be read, played and danced’ by a small troupe of actors and musicians.

Robert Plane, Lucy Gould and Benjamin Frith | Barnes Music Festival: London | Sat 29 May | 6:00pm and 8:00pm

Milhaud Suite for violin, clarinet and piano, op. 157b
Korngold Much Ado about Nothing, op. 11 (arr. for violin and piano)
Holbrooke Mezzo-Tints, op. 55 (selection)
Stravinsky Suite from The Soldier’s Tale

You may also like to see...
Back To Top