skip to Main Content
Violist Rachel Roberts

Rachel Roberts joins Steven Isserlis, Alina Ibragimova and Alasdair Beatson in Fauré

Rachel Roberts looks forward to performing at London’s Wigmore Hall on Saturday night as part of a world-leading line-up of chamber musicians and soloists.

To quote Wigmore Hall’s publicity for the event which takes place on Saturday 31 Oct 2020 at 7:30 pm:

Anticipating 2022, which brings the centenary of the death of French novelist Marcel Proust (1871-1922), and at John Gilhooly’s invitation, cellist Steven Isserlis has conceived a concert of music with links to the epoch-making French writer. Proust loved music, and chamber music in particular meant a great deal to him: musical references are common throughout his vast masterpiece À la recherche du temps perdu.

In this concert, Isserlis celebrates such references and Proust’s wider fascination with individual composers and their works – not least the Venezuelan-born, French-naturalised composer, pianist and conductor Reynaldo Hahn, his long-term friend and short-term lover. He is joined by Lucy Crowe, Alina Ibragimova, Rachel Roberts, Connie Shih and Alasdair Beatson, in an evening of music and word narrated by actor Simon Callow.

This array of works for different instrumental and vocal combinations will include the Adagio from Fauré’s Piano Quartet no. 1 in C minor, in which Rachel will feature alongside cellist Steven Isserlis, violinist Alina Ibragimova and pianist Alasdair Beatson. The programme will also include music by Schumann, Chopin, Gounod, Delafosse, Hahn, Saint-Saëns and Franck.

The concert will be live-streamed and available online for a further 30 days after the performance — click here for more information about the stream.

Rachel Roberts | Wigmore Hall | Saturday 31 Oct 2020 | 7:30 pm

Fauré Piano Quartet no. 1 in C minor, op. 15 (movement III: Adagio)

Alina Ibragimova (violin)
Rachel Roberts (viola)
Steven Isserlis (cello)
Alasdair Beatson (piano)

You may also like to see...
Back To Top 25/09/2021