skip to Main Content

Rachel Roberts and Tim Horton to give concert in Barnes – plus live stream

Rachel Roberts and Tim Horton look forward to giving a joint recital for the Barnes Music Society later this month, which will also be live-streamed online.

They will present a programme of Romantic works for viola and piano, including solo items for each musician. Due to social distancing, spaces are limited and therefore tickets are only available to members of Barnes Music Society. You will, however be able to watch the live stream, details of which will be available soon.

The concert will take place at 7.30pm on Thursday 29th October in St Mary’s Church, Barnes

Their symmetrical programme will be book-ended by works for viola and piano duo: the concert opens with Schumann’s Märchenbilder (‘Fairytale Pictures’) and ends with Brahms’s Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, op. 120, no. 1, Brahms’s own transcription of a work originally written for clarinet and piano. Between these larger works, Rachel’s solo rendition of Henri Vieuxtemps’s Capriccio Hommage à Paganini in C minor will be framed with piano sonatas by Beethoven and Schubert, performed by Tim.

This will be their first performance as a duo since Tim Horton joined the Tashmina Artists roster last month. A full list of their programme proposals as a duo can be found on this page.

Rachel Roberts and Tim Horton | Barnes Music Society: London | Thu 29 Oct 2020 | 7:30 pm

Schumann Märchenbilder, op. 113
Beethoven Piano Sonata no. 27 in E minor, op. 90
Vieuxtemps Capriccio Hommage à Paganini in C minor for solo viola, op. 55 (op. 9 posthumous)
Schubert Piano Sonata no. 13 in A major, op. 120, D. 664
Brahms Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, op. 120, no. 1

Details of the live stream to follow.

You may also like to see...
Violist Rachel Roberts
Back To Top 25/09/2021