skip to Main Content

Robert Plane – Radio 3 in Concert – Weber Clarinet Concerto no. 1

‘Radio 3 in Concert’ on Thursday evening comes from Aberystwyth Arts Centre, where Ryan Bancroft and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales continue the orchestra’s Beethoven cycle.

Between the composer’s fledgling first symphony and his iconic fifth is a gem of the woodwind repertoire, Weber’s Clarinet Concerto No 1, written three years after Beethoven’s fifth symphony and also considered innovative for its time. The soloist is BBC NOW’s Principal Clarinettist, Robert Plane.

The programme will be presented by Nicola Heywood Thomas who will chat to Rob in the interval, during which time the station will also broadcast some of Rob’s recordings. You will be able to hear Miklós Rózsa’s Sonatina for Clarinet solo, Op. 27 from Plane’s latest disc ‘Contrasts – Impressions of Hungary‘, the slow movement of the Holbrooke Clarinet Quintet and part of the Beethoven Trio, Op.11.

Full concert programme (Radio 3 broadcast available for the next 30 days):
Beethoven: Symphony No 1 in C major
Weber: Clarinet Concerto No 1 in F minor – soloist Robert Plane
Beethoven: Symphony No 5 in C minor
Robert Plane (clarinet)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Ryan Bancroft (conductor)

Photo of Weber: credit BBC Radio 3

You may also like to see...
Back To Top