skip to Main Content

‘Night Music’: Solem Quartet in first live BBN concert

The Solem Quartet looks forward to presenting the first live concert as part of their groundbreaking series Beethoven Bartók Now (BBN).

Join the Quartet on Thursday 1st July at St Giles’ Church, Camberwell, to enjoy BBN Part I: Night Music, featuring new work by composer Aaron Parker.

The performance will feature movements from Beethoven’s Op. 130 Quartet and Bartók’s Quartet no. 5 interwoven with Aaron Parker’s tuóretu, which explores the magic and mystery of Bartók’s ‘night music’ style via a tapestry of sound created by the string quartet and added electronics.

Click here for tickets.

In this video, Aaron talks about his composition for BBN, and the inspiration behind it:


BBN is an ambitious six-part series presenting the historic works of Beethoven and Bartók in a new light. Across six concerts, the Solem Quartet perform the six late quartets of Beethoven with the six quartets of Bartók, alongside specially commissioned works from leading living composers. Each event is also paired with wraparound digital content including online workshops and programme notes videos, like the one above.

Since launching BBN at the end of 2020, the Quartet has already run two highly-successful online ‘Writing for Quartet’ workshops as part of the series. Attended by over 100 composers from all over the world, the workshops offered composers from a huge variety of musical backgrounds the opportunity to workshop their music in a live performance context with the expert players of the Solem Quartet. These workshops were linked to the ‘Call for Scores’ element of BBN, in which the Quartet ran a composition competition, whose winner will write an ambitious new work for BBN Part III: Pioneers, to take place in Spring 2022.

The event title for this first live performance of BBN takes its inspiration from Bartók’s ‘night music’ style, characterised by lonely melodies over eerie dissonances and punctuated with sounds of nature. Beethoven’s op. 130, the second of the late Quartets, also contains an extraordinary palette of darkness and light in its six remarkable movements. Responding to these two canonic quartets, Aaron Parker’s tuóretu is a spell-binding new work featuring references to Bartók’s ‘night music’, and a depth of harmonic expression found so richly in Beethoven’s Op. 130. Aaron’s work unites the different worlds of these giants; and raises something new.

In the following video, you can learn more about  Bartók’s ‘night music’ style, as the Solem Quartet reflects on his fifth quartet.


Doors open at 8pm and the concert will begin at 8:30pm. Tickets are limited, and can be purchased in advance on this page.

Solem Quartet | BBN Part I: Night Music | St Giles’ Church, Camberwell: London | Thu 1 July, 8:30pm

Beethoven Quartet no. 13, op. 130 | Bartók Quartet no. 5 | Aaron Parker tuóretu

You may also like to see...
Back To Top 22/10/2021