skip to Main Content

Galliard Ensemble to perform at Stratford Music Festival

The Galliard Ensemble looks forward to performing live in concert at the Stratford-on-Avon Music Festival on Wednesday 7th October.

Tickets are now available for the concert, which takes place at Stratford Play House and will be the Galliards’ first public performance since the coronavirus lockdown.

Their programme balances short works for wind quintet by Percy Grainger, Cecilia McDowall and Eugène Bozza against longer multi-movement works. Mozart’s Quintet in C minor is a cleverly-retrospective construction by Mordechai Rechtman based on two of Mozart’s pre-existing works, and Jean Français’s Wind Quartet, written when he was just 21, is scored for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet and Bassoon.

The Stratford-on-Avon Music Festival will take place from 5th – 8th October and will feature an array of world-class performers, including three artists from the Tashmina roster. This will be a wonderful opportunity to support the performing arts at a very challenging time, and to experience live music with all necessary social-distancing precautions in place.

Tickets are available through the festival website, and you can book to see the Galliard Ensemble’s concert via this page.

Galliard Ensemble | Wednesday 7 Oct 2020 | 12:00 noon | Stratford Play House 

Mozart Quintet in C minor, after Serenade no. 12, K. 388, and Quintet, K. 406, arr. Mordechai Rechtman
Grainger Walking Tune
Grainger Lisbon
McDowall Subject to the weather
Françaix Wind Quartet
Bozza Scherzo, op. 48

You may also like to see...
Back To Top