skip to Main Content

Daniel Rowland and Princeton Symphony Orchestra Present The Four Seasons with a Tango Twist

Princeton, New Jersey—On Thursday, September 15 at 8 pm, the Princeton Symphony Orchestra (PSO) presents The Seasons — Antonio Vivaldi’s popular The Four Seasons interwoven with Astor Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, arranged by Leonid Desyatnikov. The concert at Richardson Auditorium features Daniel Rowland as soloist and conductor, leading the PSO through Vivaldi’s vividly depicted scenery and Piazzolla’s soulful homage infused with passionate melodies and tango rhythms.

Princeton Symphony Orchestra Music Director Rossen Milanov comments “I’m thrilled we can bring Daniel’s passionate interpretations of the Vivaldi and Piazzolla Four Seasons to Princeton. It’s going to be a wonderful concert and a great prologue to our season of creative expression.”

Vivaldi’s musical imagery was likely inspired by his travels through the Italian countryside. Sonnets meant to describe each season and its scenes are included in the Four Seasons score. Russian composer Leonid Desyatnikov arranged Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires for violin soloist and strings for Latvian violinist Gidon Kremer, allowing the two works be performed as a set. Desyatnikov includes several quotations from Vivaldi, but due to seasons being inverted between northern and southern hemispheres, aspects of movements are likewise inverted i.e. Verano Porteño (Summer) includes elements of Vivaldi’s “Winter.”

In addition to performing The Seasons, Daniel Rowland will be playing alongside Princeton Symphony Orchestra principal musicians at the PSO’s opening chamber concert of The Schubert Octet at the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) on Thursday, September 22.

Full details of all the concerts here.


You may also like to see...
Tickets now on sale for August’s Stiftfestival
First performance in Mexico of Michel van der Aa Violin Concerto
Daniel Rowland premieres 70-year-old Violin Concerto by Rogowsky
BBC Radio 3 Broadcast of Elgar Centenary Concert
Daniel Rowland performs at RIAM, Dublin
Stift Musical Encounters - Daniel Rowland
Stift Musical Encounters
Broadcast of Bernstein West Side Story Suite for Violin and Orchestra
Intimate Letters – Daniel Rowland invites you to Stift Festival 2018
Glass Concerto with Orchestre de Picardie
Rowland to perform Lindberg Violin Concerto in Finland
Rowland to play 1736 'ex-Rode' Guarneri del Gesu
Rowland returns to Finland to work with City of Joensuu Orchestra
Phillip Sommerich talks to Daniel Rowland
The 47th Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival begins on Sunday!
"8 Seasons" at Turner Sims Southampton with són
Daniel Rowland and Ulster Orchestra – BBC Radio 3 Broadcast of Vivaldi and Piazzolla’s Four Seasons
Rowland plays to packed Ulster Hall
Daniel Rowland Soloist/Director with the Ulster Orchestra
Vivaldi/Piazzolla Eight Seasons plus Korngold and Philip Glass Concertos
North and South; Baroque and Tango – Soloist/Director Daniel Rowland with the Ulster Orchestra
25th – 30th August: Stiftfestival 2015. Daniel Rowland is Artistic Director
With Nikita Naumov at Rathfinny Wine Estate
Daniel Rowland signs with Tashmina Artists
Back To Top