skip to Main Content

New video: Timothy Orpen plays Weber

Timothy Orpen plays Weber’s Clarinet Quintet in a brand new video alongside colleagues from the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, with whom Timothy is Principal Clarinet. The video forms part of the RSNO’s Spring/Summer Digital Season 2021, with members of the orchestra performing as the…

Schumann, Schubert, Finzi and Mozart

Timothy Orpen (clarinet), Fiona Winning (viola) and John Reid (piano)

Robert Schumann - Märchenerzählungen, op. 132
Franz Schubert - Arpeggione Sonata in A minor, D. 821
Gerald Finzi - 5 Bagatelles for Clarinet and Piano, op. 23
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano in E flat, K.498 - Kegelstatt

Milhaud, Mozart, Brahms and Bartók

Timothy Orpen (clarinet), Thomas Gould (violin) and John Reid (Piano)

Darius Milhaud - Suite for violin, clarinet and piano, op. 157b
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Mozart Violin Sonata (choice to be agreed)
Johannes Brahms - Sonata in E flat major, op.120, no. 2
Bela Bartók - Contrasts, Sz 111

Beethoven, Poulenc, Bruch and Brahms

Timothy Orpen (clarinet), Gemma Rosefield (cello) and Simon Lepper (piano)

Ludwig van Beethoven - Trio no. 4 in B flat op. 11, Gassenhauer
Francis Poulenc - Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
Max Bruch - 8 Pieces for clarinet, cello and piano, op. 83 (selection)
Johannes Brahms - Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano in A minor, op. 114

Enticing programmes and collaborations

Timothy Orpen is offering three diverse and enticing programme proposals for future concerts, including collaborations with Gemma Rosefield, Simon Lepper, Thomas Gould, Fiona Winning and John Reid. Please click here to see the programmes in detail. The addition of violin,…


Timothy Orpen is Principal Clarinet of RNSO and also performs regular chamber music and chamber orchestra concerts across the UK and overseas with Aurora Orchestra.  

Publicity Images

High resolution versions are available for download for all the images below. Please click on an image to download, or use the link in the caption.  


27th June 2013 - Update - Clarinet Quintets for the 21st century Further to the original press release (below), you can learn more about composers Aaron Holloway-Nahum and Luke Styles via these videos and recordings.Aaron Holloway-Nahum's talks about his new…

Timothy Orpen

Timothy Orpen

Timothy Orpen was formerly the principal clarinet of the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. In 2020 he joined the Royal Scottish National Orchestra as principal clarinet. Timothy is also a founder member and principal of the Aurora…

Back To Top 19/10/2021